top of page
Search
  • zanjoozulfiqar

Violet Made Of Thorns by Gina Chen Review



Violet Made Of Thorns Review

Hello everyone! I'm back with another review of a book that is probably everyone's anticipated read of this year. Let's get on with it!

Thank you so much NetGalley for an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

➳ The writing was pretty easy to follow and even though this is a negative review, I felt as if this book had much amazing stuff to it.

➳ I going to talk about the plot. I felt there wasn't much to the plot honestly, just everything revolving around a prophecy which is fine except that was all there was. The beasts were an interesting edition to the story and the history was well-crafted but that's where it all ends. I really liked this world but because of the above and below stated reasons, I just couldn't. There was so much potential and opportunity but it wasn't availed and in the end resulted in poor execution. Also, this book was very slow and I felt like like DNFing but I had to push myself because it's an obligation for me to finish ARCs on time. But I really liked the well-crafted history.

➳ One of the reasons a book is mostly liked are the characters and in this book part of the reason me not liking it were the characters. They felt highly bland and boring with no depth and complexity, I can understand as this book is debut but still, addressing it was important for part of my review. The romance needs to be called out honestly😂 In love, there are these feelings that are created of a person's personality and commitment but I found nothing. Violet and Cyrus clearly hated each other but loved each other? I don't get that. Love is this warm and fuzzy feeling but nowadays authors have made it into this ugly and thorny thing which astonishingly some people love. Spoiler: And in one of the last chapters, Cyrus made Violet stay at the castle for his use which is toxic? I don't get the romance😂 But I liked the Asian representation because I'm here for it and also the morally grey rep.

➳ All in all, I sadly didn't like my most anticipated read of this year but I hope others do because everyone has different choices. Violet Made Of Thorns is a solid 2 stars from me. I'm sure others would like it like many other people so please don't not read this book because of my review, maybe you'll like it!

That's all for now, thank you all for reading! Have an amazing day!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page